Useful Contacts

Addiction and substance misuse (alcohol, drugs, gambling)
Addaction                              www.addaction.org.uk                        0207 251 5860

Alcohol Concern                   www.alcoholconcern.org.uk              0207 566 9800

Alcohol Health Network      www.alcoholhealthnetwork.org.uk   0203 151 2420

Drinkline                                 0300 123 1110 

Drinkaware                            www.drinkaware.co.uk                        0207 766 9900

Gamblers Anonymous         www.gamblersanonymous.com

Narcotics Anonymous         www.ukna.org                                       0300 999 1212

Talk to Frank                                                                                          0300 123 6600

Anxiety
Anxiety UK                              www.anxietyuk.org.uk                         08444 775 774 Monday-Friday 9.30 – 5.30

No Panic                                www.nopanic.org.uk                             0844 967 4848 

Youth helpline for 13 to 20 year olds 4 – 6 pm Mon – Fri                   

OCD Action                            www.ocdaction.org.uk                         0845 390 6232

Triumph over phobia            www.topuk.org                                      01225 571 740

Bereavement

Bereavement Advice Centre         www.bereavementadvice.org     0800 634 9494

Cruse Bereavement Care              www.cruse.org.uk                         0808 8081677

Dying Matters                                 www.dyingmatters.org                 0800 021 4466

Survivors of those bereaved by Suicide (SOBS)      http://www.uk-sobs.org.uk        0300 111 5065          

Bi-polar

Bi-polar UK                                         www.bipolaruk.org                         0333 323 3890

Depression
Depression Alliance    www.depressionalliance.org                  0207 407 7584

Depression UK            www.depressionuk.org

Association for post-natal depression 0207 386 1111 freephone helpline www.apni.org

Young Minds 0808 802 5544 www.youngminds.org.uk

 

Mental Health
Mental Health First Aid Englandwww.mhfaengland.org

Mental Health Foundation www.mentalhealth.org.uk

MINDwww.mind.org.uk

Rethink www.rethink.org

Samaritanswww.samaritans.org

SANEwww.sane.org.uk

Time to changewww.time-to-change.org.uk

Mindfulness
Be Mindfulwww.bemindful.co.uk

Mental Health Foundation www.mentalhealth.org.uk

Self Harm
Mental Health Foundation www.mentalhealth.org.uk

Harmless www.harmless.org.uk

Self Injury Support 0808 800 8088 www.selfinjurysupport.co.uk

Young Minds www.youngminds.org.uk

Suicide Prevention
ASIST (Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training) www.livingworks.net

safeTALK www.chooselife.net

CALM (Campaign against living miserably) 0800 58 58 58 (helpline 5pm – midnight 7 days a week www.thecalmzone.net

PAPYRUS 0800 068 4141 freefone helpline 10 am – 10 pm weekends 2 pm – 10 pm www.papyrus-uk.org

Samaritans 116 123 www.samaritans.org

Other
Change 4 Lifewww.nhs.uk/change4life

Carers UKwww.carersuk.org

Youplus www.youplus.co.uk

Crisis support and helplines

If you, or someone you know is in mental health crisis and needs medical help fast:

  • Ring 999 to contact emergency services
  • Go to your nearest Accident and Emergency (A & E) department

If it is not a medical emergency, but you still need urgent help:

  • Ring 111 for professional health advice 24/7 and 365 days a year and guidance on where to access appropriate health services
  • Make an appointment with your GP

Useful Numbers:

National 
Samaritans 116 123 

Saneline 0300 304 7000 

MIND infoline 0300 123 3393

Rethink Advice and Information Service 0300 5000 927

Local 
Scunthorpe General Hospital 01724 282282

GP Emergency Centre 01724 290444

Citizen’s Advice Bureau 01724 870941